Return to Home Page
Return to Home Page


Lafayette County C-1 School District

805 West 31st Street

The Lafayette County C-1 School district is situated on a one-campus site of approximately 40 acres. The school district complex is one of the first things people notice as they drive into Higginsville on Highway 13 coming from I-70. Students attend classes in three attractive, air-conditioned, well-maintained buildings: Grandview Elementary (K-5), Middle School (6-8) and High School (9-12). A large “home of the Huskers” sign and a replica of “Harold the Husker,” school mascot, welcomes visitors and residents as they drive by the school complex.

Continued community support through the passage of bond issues in 1988, 1995, and 1998 totaling over $6 million have kept facilities modernized, and provided expansion for student population growth.

The Lafayette County C-1 Schools were accredited by the Missouri School Improvement Plan (MSIP) Review Team in March 1996. In the spring of 1999, the school district was awarded a Coalition of Essential Schools (CED) Grant. Also, during the 1999-2000 school year, a Lafayette County C-1 teacher was nationally recognized as a Milken Winner, and the High School placed in the Top 10 percentile of Missouri Schools in the content area of Mathematics.

The Lafayette County C-1 School District offers a wide array of curricular options at all levels, ranging from the basic instructional areas to specialized curricular offerings for college bound students. In addition, students may take dual credit courses at several area post-secondary instructions. Also, vocational classes in several areas are offered through C-1 High School and Lex-La-Ray Technical Center in Lexington. An extensive and comprehensive special education program serves all qualified students in grades K-12. The Student Success Center, established in 1996, provides an instructional resource for student requiring an alternative program.

A diversified extra-curricular activities program exists, providing opportunities in vocal/instrumental music, athletics and academic support clubs and teams. For further information call (660)584-3631.

Immanuel Lutheran School

1500 Lipper Avenue

Immanuel Lutheran School was founded in 1950 and provides a quality Christian education for children in Pre-school age 3 through Grade 8. They have a certified staff of caring, loving teachers who are dedicated to serving God through their teaching ministry.

Immanuel provides a variety of opportunities for pupils to form meaningful and responsible relationships. Parents are the teacher’s partners in the important job of education children. Since Immanuel views the school as an extension of the parent’s authority and influence, they are the parent’s partners in the vital work of shaping their children’s lives.

You need not be of the Lutheran faith to attend Immanuel Lutheran School.

Head Start

15 East 22nd Street

Head Start is a government funded pre-school program for low-income families with children between the ages of 3 and 5. Also served are children with disabilities. Children attend the Head Start center at 15 East 22nd Street, in Higginsville. The services are available September through May, Monday through Thursday, 9:00 – 1:00. The emphasis of this program is on families and what can be done together for the children.

Montessori School

311 West 23rd Street

The Montessori Schoolhouse is a school program for preschool-8th grade. The school was established in 1994 and is a nonprofit 501C3. Their mission is to provide an exceptional and individualized high quality academic experience with affordable tuition cost. Their certified/degreed teachers create a respectful and inspiring environment where they ensure that every child has a deep level of understanding. For more information visit their website:

Universities and Colleges

  • University of Central Missouri in Warrensburg (20 miles)
  • University of Missouri – Kansas City (50 miles)
  • The University of Missouri Columbia (80 miles)

Private Colleges

  • Wentworth Military Academy in Lexington (15 miles)
  • Missouri Valley College in Marshall (30 miles)
  • Rockhurst College in Kansas City (50 miles)
  • Avila College in Kansas City (50 miles)
  • Park University in Lexington (13 miles)